Bill Phillips, Dolly Parton and Put It Off Until Tomorrow

Bill Phillips started out singing on a jamboree style radio show with a variety of artists on WMIL in Miami, Florida.

 

 Two duets with Mel Tillis broke through on the Billboard charts in 1959 and 1960, but it was in 1966 that Bill Phillips experienced major success after recording a song written by a then-unknown Dolly Parton. 

Parton says she was living in poverty when Bill Phillips heard her demo of “Put It Off Until Tomorrow”, which she wrote with her uncle Bill Owens. Phillips was so impressed by the female vocalist on the demo that he had Dolly sing harmonies. 

 

The song became Bill Phillips first Top 10 hit, and it helped to launch the career of Dolly Parton. Just a few months later Dolly had songs recorded by Skeeter Davis and Hank Williams Jr. and she soon signed her first recording contract. 

 

Although Bill Phillips career did not reach the same height as Dolly Parton, he had an influential career and toured with Kitty Wells and Johnny Wright from 1969 until 1984 and was also a part of their syndicated television show. 

 

Tune in to Real Wild Radio this Thursday June 27 for a special program we put together that features highlights the story and songs of Bill Phillips. 

 

We have listeners from all over the world, so find your time zone below. The Bill Phillips program will begin on Thursday June 27 at: 

5 PM PST 

6 PM MST 

7 PM CST 

8 PM EST 

2 AM CET (Friday) 

10 AM AEST (Friday) 

12 PM NZST (Friday) 

 

Download our Free App and tune in from anywhere. Simply visit your App Store, search for Real Wild Radio, download and tune in. You can also listen for free here at RealWildRadio.com 

 

Thanks for listening. 

 

Stay Real. Stay Wild! 

 

#BillPhillips #DollyParton #CountryMusicHistory